Florida CE Requirements

As a nurse in the state of Florida, you are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education for license renewal, including 2 hours related to medical error prevention. In addition, for your initial renewal, you must complete one hour related to HIV/AIDS, and for each third renewal period, 2 hours related to domestic violence are necessary. Effective July 1, 2014, you are exempt from this requirement if certified by a health care specialty program accredited by the National Commission of Certifying Agencies (NCCA) or the Accrediting Bureau of Specialty Nursing Certification (ABSNC). A new requirement of 2 contact hours related to Florida Laws and Rules is also now in effect.

*RN & ARNP: effective August 1, 2017 (and then every 4 years thereafter): 2 hours related to recognizing impairment in the workplace
*LPN: effective July 31, 2019 (and then every 4 years thereafter): 2 hours related to recognizing impairment in the workplace

Listed below are several CE offerings from Lippincott's nursing journals to help you meet your license renewal requirements:

CE Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace
Nursing Management, 2 contact hours
$21.95


CE Understanding the Letter of the Law for Florida RNs and ARNPs
Lippincott CE Module, 2 contact hours
$21.95

CE Understanding the Letter of the Law for Florida LPNs
Lippincott CE Module, 2 contact hours
$21.95


CE Preventing and Managing Medical Errors for Direct Care - FL BON Requirement
Home Healthcare Now, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!, 2 contact hours
$21.95

CE Preventing and Managing Medical Errors for Nurse Managers - FL BON Requirement
Home Healthcare Now, Nursing Management, 2 contact hours
$21.95


CE Getting to the Root of Medication Errors
Nursing2013, 3.5 contact hours
$29.95

CE Feeling Shame: Insights on Intimate Partner Violence
Journal of Christian Nursing, 2 contact hours
$21.95


CE Targeting abuse
Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!, 2.3 contact hours
$21.95

CE Every Nurse Is an HIV Nurse
American Journal of Nursing, 3 contact hours
$27.95


NEW! All ARNPs must now complete at least three hours of continuing education on the safe and effective prescription of controlled substances for each biennial renewal. 

You can visit the Florida State Board of Nursing site for more information on your CE renewal requirements.


Attention hospitals and other healthcare institutions! Interested in purchasing any of these CE activities in bulk for your staff?  Get more information by calling 855-695-5070 or sending an email to Sales@LippincottSolutions.com.

 

More Resources