Source:

Nursing2015

April 2006, Volume 36 Number 4 , p 8 - 8 [FREE]

Authors

  • SUZANNE FONTECCHIO RN, BSN
  • M. REVOIR RN, BSN

Abstract

 

I was glad to read "Celiac Disease Goes against the Grain" (February 2006). Most people (and some physicians) don't know enough about this multisystem autoimmune disorder.

 

Nurses should teach patients with celiac disease that the gluten-free diet is rich in variety and nutrition. Besides the allowed foods you listed, many kinds of soda, chocolate candy, chips, ice cream, and wines are gluten-free. People can use a gluten-free flour mix for homemade breads and baked goods. Some restaurants and many grocery stores offer gluten-free choices. Although people with celiac disease need to be aware of product ingredients that contain gluten, they shouldn't feel deprived in any way.

 

SUZANNE FONTECCHIO, RN, BSN

 

Erie, Pa.

 

As a retired nurse who's recently been diagnosed with gluten sensitivity, I was delighted to see your article on celiac disease. Tell patients that some medications and vitamins may have a gluten base. The communion wafer is another little-known source of wheat. Most soy sauce contains wheat, and so do many chicken broths.

 

M. REVOIR, RN, BSN

 

Big Rapids, Mich.

 

Send comments to Letters Editor, Nursing2006, 323 Norristown Road, Suite 200, Ambler, PA 19002-2758. Or send e-mails (no attachments, please) to elowe@lww.com. Please include your name, credentials, complete mailing address, e-mail address (if applicable), and daytime phone number. Letters are edited for content, length, and grammar.

I was glad to read "Celiac Disease Goes against the Grain" (February 2006). Most people (and some physicians) don't know enough about this multisystem autoimmune disorder.

 
Figure. No caption a... - Click to enlarge in new windowFigure. No caption available.

Nurses should teach patients with celiac disease that the gluten-free diet is rich in variety and nutrition. Besides the allowed foods you listed, many kinds of soda, chocolate candy, chips, ice cream, and wines are gluten-free. People can use a gluten-free flour mix for homemade breads and baked goods. Some restaurants and many grocery stores offer gluten-free choices. Although people with celiac disease need to be aware of product ingredients that contain gluten, they shouldn't feel deprived in any way.

SUZANNE FONTECCHIO, RN, BSN

Erie, Pa.

As a retired nurse who's recently been diagnosed with gluten sensitivity, I was delighted to see your article on celiac disease. Tell patients that some medications and vitamins may have a gluten base. The communion wafer is another little-known source of wheat. Most soy sauce contains wheat, and so do many chicken broths.

M. REVOIR, RN, BSN

Big Rapids, Mich.

Send comments to Letters Editor, Nursing2006, 323 Norristown Road, Suite 200, Ambler, PA 19002-2758. Or send e-mails (no attachments, please) to elowe@lww.com. Please include your name, credentials, complete mailing address, e-mail address (if applicable), and daytime phone number. Letters are edited for content, length, and grammar.