Continuing Education Requirements for Nurses by State

Do you practice in a state with specific continuing education requirements for nurses? Many states in the U.S. require a certain number of contact hours for license renewal and some have specific continuing education requirements related to particular clinical topics. Explore the state requirements below, as well as our nursing CE offerings that will assist you in meeting your state’s nursing continuing education requirements.
  Alabama   Kentucky   North Dakota
  Alaska   Louisiana   Ohio
  Arizona   Maine   Oklahoma
  Arkansas   Maryland   Oregon
  California   Massachusetts   Pennsylvania
  Colorado   Michigan   Rhode Island
  Connecticut   Minnesota   South Carolina
  Delaware   Mississippi   South Dakota
  District of Columbia   Missouri   Tennessee
  Florida   Montana   Texas
  Georgia   Nebraska   Utah
  Hawaii   Nevada   Vermont
  Idaho   New Hampshire   Virginia
  Illinois   New Jersey   Washington
  Indiana   New Mexico   West Virginia
  Iowa   New York   Wisconsin
  Kansas   North Carolina   Wyoming

To assist you in meeting your state’s continuing education requirements, Lippincott Williams & Wilkins also offers an exclusive CESaver Collection of award-winning, peer-reviewed nursing journals. You will find current, authoritative, evidence-based resources to help you in your practice and to meet your license renewal requirements. Take as many nursing continuing professional development courses in the collection as you want for only $59.95 a year, or $79.95 for two years.