Article Content

Nursing Management journal's editorial board is recognizing a nurse leader who views nursing as both an art and a science, promoting extraordinary care and caring. Named in honor of the journal's long-standing and highly respected editor-in-chief and conference chairperson, Dr. Richard Hader, this award recognizes excellence in nursing leadership.

Figure. No caption a... - Click to enlarge in new windowFigure. No caption available.

To enter the award competition, submit a nomination of up to 2,000 words detailing your ownor a colleague's accomplishments in planning, developing, and implementing sustainable change. The submission must articulate evidence that addresses the following award guidelines:


* Positive work environment: The leader significantly influences the unit or department through the implementation of strategies to improve professional practice and development, nurse satisfaction, and patient safety and quality.


* Clinical practice: The leader implements strategies that support the advancement of nursing science through refining and expanding the nursing knowledge base, and influencing patient care delivery.


* Transformational leadership: The leader defines a shared vision, motivates and coaches teams toward the shared vision, mentors others, and promotes shared decision making within the team or organization.



The manuscript should address the leader's ability to sustain excellence through insight, inspiration,creativity, and applicability to other organizations.


Nursing Management's editorial board will select the winner based on readability and the provided evidence. We'll feature the 2018 Richard Hader Visionary Leader in our January 2019 issue. The selected honoree will receive an all-expenses-paid trip to Nursing Management Congress2018, which includes round-trip airfare, conference registration, and hotel accommodations. The winner will be recognized onsite during the conference program.


E-mail your nomination to mailto:[email protected], with "Visionary Leader" in the subject head. Deadline to enter: July 15, 2018.

Figure. Annie Russel... - Click to enlarge in new windowFigure.
Figure. Christine Ro... - Click to enlarge in new windowFigure.
Figure. Sylvain Trep... - Click to enlarge in new windowFigure.
Figure. Debra S. Rud... - Click to enlarge in new windowFigure.
Figure. Bob Dent, 20... - Click to enlarge in new windowFigure.
Figure. Maureen Maur... - Click to enlarge in new windowFigure.