Article Content

ADA Elects New Board of Directors

Eighteen national leaders in the fields of food, nutrition, and public health will guide the American Dietetic Association as ADA's 2004-2005 Board of Directors. The board serves until June 2005 and includes:


Susan H. Laramee, MS, RD, LDN, FADA, Massachusetts, ADA President


Ethan A. Bergman, PhD, RD, CD, FADA, Washington, House of Delegates Director


Margaret Bogle, PhD, RD, LD, Arkansas., ADA Foundation Chair


Sonja L. Connor, MS, RD, LD, Oregon, Speaker-elect, House of Delegates


Connie Diekman, MEd, RD, LD, FADA, Missouri, Director


Marianne Smith Edge, MS, RD, LD, FADA, Owensboro, Ky, Past President


Chester R. England III, Florida, Public Member


Cecilia P. Fileti, MS, RD, FADA, Michigan, Director


Beth L. Leonberg, MS, RD, CSP, FADA, Pennsylvania, Director


B. Thomas Malone Jr, MS, RD, LD, Texas, Treasurer


Kathleen Niedert, MBA, RD, LD, FADA, Hudson, Iowa, Director


Monica Phillips Penkilo, MPH, RD, LD, Texas, Director


Penny Ralston, Florida, Public Member


Rebecca S. Reeves, DrPh, RD, FADA, Texas, President-Elect


Nancy P. Siler, MS, RD, LD, CFCS, Woodridge, Ill, Director


Martin M. Yadrick, MS, MBA, RD, FADA, California, Treasurer-Elect


Melinda Zook-Weaver, MS, RD, LD, West Virginia, Speaker of the House of Delegates


Ronald S. Moen, Chicago, Ill, ADA Chief Executive Officer



The International Society of Food Technologists has elected Malcolm Bourne as President. He is a past president of the Institute of Food Technologists and also a professor emeritus of food science at Cornell University. Bourne will serve as president until the 2006 World Food Congress.


The Office of Dietary Supplements has named Elizabeth Yetley, PhD, as a Senior Nutrition Science Advisor. In this position, Dr Yetley will be responsible for providing leadership to the Office's Dietary supplement and health promotion/disease prevention program initiatives. Dr Yetley was with the Food and Drug Administration for 24 years where she was key in developing the concept of significant scientific agreement. She is one of the "wise heads" the nutrition policy community relies on for sound science views on issues of concern.