Article Content

Awards and Kudos


Stunkard Wins IOM's Sarnat Prize

The Institute of Medicine of the National Academies of Science awarded the 2004 Rhoda G. and Bernard G. Sarnat International Prize in Mental Health to Albert J. "Mickey" Stunkard, professor emeritus of psychiatry at the University of Pennsylvania. It was in recognition of the international scope and significance of Stunkard's contributions to psychiatry and mental health, particularly his research on eating disorders. The work of Stunkard, a pioneer in the field of psychosomatic medicine, has altered the public perception of eating disorders, and his seminal work has led to improvements in how these disorders are treated. Stunkard was the first to describe binge eating disorder and night eating syndrome, and spent more than 50 years conducting clinical research on these disorders and on obesity. In the 1960s, Stunkard showed for the first time the strong relationship between socioeconomic status and obesity. In the 1970s, he was instrumental in the development of behavioral therapy for obesity and anorexia nervosa. In the 1980s, he developed the most widely used questionnaire to assess the psychological aspects of eating behavior. His twin and adoption studies have provided the strongest evidence yet for genetic influences on human obesity. Congratulations, Mickey!!

Figure. No caption a... - Click to enlarge in new windowFigure. No caption available.

American Dietetic Association Presents Medallion Award to 8 Members

The American Dietetic Association (ADA) presented its Medallion Award to eight ADA members in recognition of their outstanding service and leadership to ADA and the dietetics profession at its annual meeting


The awardees are as follows:


Cynthia Taft Bayerl, MS, RD, LDN, of the Massachusetts Department of Public Health.


Judith L. Dodd, MS, RD, LDN, FADA, of the University of Pittsburgh and a supermarket industry consultant and advisor.


Beatriz Dykes, PhD, RD, LD, FADA, of Sinclair Community College in Ohio.


Molly Gee, MEd, RD, LD, of Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, Tex, where she works on the Look AHEAD study of the effects of weight loss in people with type 2 diabetes.


Barbara Ann F. Hughes, PhD, RD, LDN, FADA, of Raleigh, NC, who is president of a nutrition consulting firm there.


Charlotte M. Mosqueira, MA, RD, Fresno, Calif, director of Nutrition and Food Services at Baptist Health Medical Center, Little Rock, Ark.


Jody L. Vogelzang, PhD, MS, RD, LD, CD, FADA, of Texas Woman's University and the University of North Texas.


Madelyn L. Wheeler, MS, RD, CD, FADA, CDE, of the Indiana University Diabetes Prevention and Control Center.


Lawson Is Named President-elect of IFT

Margaret A. Lawson, technical services manager for the T. Hasegawa Flavor and Fragrances Company has been named president-elect of the Institute of Food Technologists. She succeeds Herbert Stone, PhD, of the Tragon Corporation as IFT president-elect.

Figure. No caption a... - Click to enlarge in new windowFigure. No caption available.

Roland Weinsier's Memory Honored With Name for the ASCN Award

The American Society for Clinical Nutrition (ASCN) and the Dannon Institute announced that the ASCN Award for Excellence in Medical/Dental Nutrition Education would be named in honor of Dr Roland L. Weinsier, who died in 2003 after a distinguished career at the University of Alabama Medical School. It was through Dr Weinsier's vision that the Dannon Institute Award for Excellence in Medical/Dental Nutrition Education was first established as the highest national honor given for nutrition education of medical and dental professionals. He did this under the auspices of the ASCN Committee on Professional Nutrition Education, of which he was a member from 1984 to 1990 and which he chaired from 1987 to 1990. Dr Weinsier was a recipient of the award in 1995. The new name of the award, beginning in 2005, is The Roland L. Weinsier Award for Excellence in Medical/Dental Nutrition Education. This award is generously supported by the Dannon Institute.


McCormick Honored With Rall Medal at National Academy of Sciences

Dr Marie McCormick, the Sumner and Esther Feldberg Professor of Maternal and Child health at the Harvard School of Public Health in Boston, received the David Rall Medal of the Institute of Medicine, National Academy of Sciences, in October. The medal was awarded to her for her leadership as chair of a study of the Institute of Medicine on Immunization Safety, and her co chairmanship of the committee on Perinatal Transmission of HIV.

Figure. No caption a... - Click to enlarge in new windowFigure. No caption available.