1. Section Editor(s): Allison, Leslie K. Editor

Article Content

Journal Status: The Journal of Geriatric Physical Therapy enjoys a steady, healthy submission rate. We received 215 submissions in 2019, of which 93 were entered into the third stage of the editorial and peer review system. This reduction in the proportion of submissions that are moved forward for masked peer review is intentional, as we work to achieve an annual acceptance rate commensurate with our ability to publish accepted manuscripts within a reasonable time frame. Manuscripts originated from the United States and 33 other countries. Of the 66 papers for which final disposition was determined in 2019, 15, or 23%, were accepted. Journal Citation Reports indicate a 2018 impact factor of 2.283 for the Journal of Geriatric Physical Therapy. SCImago ranks the Journal in the top 40% of geriatrics and gerontology journals (45/110), and the top 25% of rehabilitation journals (27/120).


Reviewer Appreciation: Manuscripts submitted to the Journal of Geriatric Physical Therapy undergo a 3-stage review process that requires the coordinated efforts of the Journal's Editor, 5 Associate Editors, and numerous Reviewers. I extend my sincere thanks to our dedicated Associate Editors: Bill Andrews, Kevin Chui, Ann Medley, Kerstin Palombaro, and Robert Wellmon, each of whom review many submitted manuscripts and guide them through the review and revision process. In addition to his regular editorial responsibilities, Robert Wellmon has this past year agreed to serve as the Social and Digital Media editor for the Journal, supporting our efforts to promote Journal content and increase engagement with readers. Working with the Editorial team, the 82 Editorial Board members and Reviewers listed below each reviewed 1 or more manuscripts for the Journal in 2019. We are most grateful for their committed service.


-Leslie K. Allison, Editor


Reviewers for 2019

Special Recognition

These individuals each reviewed 5 or more manuscripts last year:


Daniela Abreu


Dale Avers


Richard Bohannon


Stephen Carp


Patricia Gillette


Tamara Gravano


Elena Ioana Iconaru


Kevin Neville


Arco Paul


April Roy


Nancy Smith


Bayram Unver


With Sincere Appreciation

These individuals each reviewed 1 to 4 manuscripts last year:


Tiffany Adams


Mateus Antunes


Garrett Ash


Katherine Beissner


Heather Braden


Robert Briggs


Kathryn Brown


Tracey Collins


Christina Criminger


Rebecca Crouch


Nicole Dawson


Zeevi Dvir


Ellen Erdman


Christian Evans


Elie Fiogbe


Richard Fortinsky


Anne Galgon


LaVerene Garner


Arzu Genc


Susan Glenney


Hui-Ting Goh


Laura Gras


Michelle Green


Timothy Hanke


Peter Hartley


Janine Hatch


Jill Heitzman


Wendy Herbert


Tiffany Hilton


Ethan Hood


Min Hui Huang


Kent Irwin


Eric Johnson


Max Jordon


Michal Katz-Leurer


Dennis Klima


Neeraj Kumar


Kelly Lindenberg


Derek Liuzzo


Mark Loftin


Michelle Lusardi


Corrie Mancinelli


Alda Marques


Caryn McAllister


Carol McFarland


Sara Migliarese


Kenneth Miller


Carol Miller


Marilyn Moffett


Brad Myers


Enrique Pineda


Patricia Pohl


V. Prakash


Myla Quiben


Doha Rasheedy


Mindy Renfro


Thomas Rulleau


Harshvardhan Singh


Kachun Siu


James Smith


Mike Studer


Anielle Cristhine Takahashi


Elizabeth Thompson


Mary Thompson


Elaine Trudelle-Jackson


Frank Tudini


Justin Wager


Sheila Watts


Fran Wedge


Diane Wrisley