Article Content

Since it began publishing more than a century ago, AJN has enjoyed a close relationship with the ANA. For the past decade, that relationship has included designating AJN as the ANA's official journal and providing AJN as a benefit of ANA membership. Recently, however, the ANA announced its decision to launch a new publication as its official journal and to distribute that publication instead of AJN to its members. While many of us who are members of the ANA count on AJN as a benefit of our membership, we all are seriously concerned about the implications this decision holds for the ANA, AJN, and the nursing profession.

 

The ANA has characterized its move to launch a new publication as a business decision. Member subscriptions had been financed by the proceeds of the ANA's sale of AJN to a large publisher 10 years ago. As these funds approached exhaustion, the ANA was confronted with the need to determine how to finance continued member subscriptions, if at all. Ultimately, it decided to launch a new, more modest publication that surely cannot be expected to substitute for the reputation, history, leadership, educational value, and practice-changing capacity of AJN.

 

We understand that balancing priorities can be challenging. But hard-nosed budgetary decisions, no matter how well intentioned, can have unintended consequences that reach well beyond the financial. Certainly our profession has ample recent experience that illustrates this point.

 

AJN is a living link between nursing's history, its present, and its future. Maintaining a close relationship between the ANA and AJN has served both of them well-and has served the profession well since the dawn of organized nursing in the United States. AJN is also recognized internationally as an important voice for nursing. It provides ANA members and others with authoritative, credible, reliable, peer-reviewed, evidence-based, and useful content, including information, research, news, and analysis of issues in nursing practice, education, and policy. And by virtue of its stature as a long-established, highly respected, widely read, and cited professional journal, AJN is able to bring nursing's perspectives to a wide audience that extends beyond its readership and beyond nursing. In fact, AJN was one of the first nursing journals to be indexed by the National Library of Medicine and is one of few nursing journals included in the Institute of Scientific Information's Journal Citation Report.

 

The value of such a journal to the profession and to the ANA's image throughout the world should be apparent to the ANA's leaders, as should the importance of supporting the journal and maintaining a close relationship to it. Simply put, the profession is poorly served by separating the professional journal from the professional association.

 

It may well be too late for the ANA to reconsider its decision, at least for now. But we hope that the concerns of many members and nursing leaders in the United States and abroad can draw the attention of the ANA's leadership to the adverse implications of that decision. Moreover, in the coming months, both parties should act to mitigate the damage to the ANA, AJN, and the profession by ensuring that this separation, however unfortunate, does not become a complete rift. The ANA should explore with AJN any avenues for ongoing support and collaboration, including continued links between the journal and the ANA's membership.

 

We respectfully call upon the ANA's current and incoming leaderships to make this a high priority.

 

Mary Alexander, MA, RN, CRNI, CAE

 

Editor, Journal of Infusion Nursing, the official publication of the Infusion Nurses Society, mailto:mary.alexander@ins1.org

 

Donna L. Algase, PhD, RN, FAAN, FGSA

 

Editor, Research and Theory for Nursing Practice,mailto:dalgase@umich.edu

 

Elizabeth A. Ayello, PhD, RN, APRN,BC, CWOCN, FAPWCA, FAAN

 

Executive Editor, World Council of Enterostomal Therapists (WCET) Journal,mailto:elizabeth_ayello@ayello.com

 

Judith Gedney Baggs, PhD, RN, FAAN

 

Editor, Research in Nursing and Health,mailto:baggsj@ohsu.edu

 

Susan Bakewell-Sachs, PhD, RN, APRN,BC

 

Neonatal Editor, Journal of Perinatal and Neonatal Nursing,mailto:sbakewel@tcnj.edu

 

Jane Bliss-Holtz, DNSc, RN, BC

 

Editor, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing,mailto:jbliss@meridianhealth.com

 

Pamela J. Brink, PhD, RN

 

Editor, Western Journal of Nursing Research,mailto:pamb@interbaun.com

 

Marion E. Broome, PhD, RN, FAAN

 

Editor, Nursing Outlook, the Official Journal of the American Academy of Nursing, mailto:mbroome@iupui.edu

 

Barbara J. Brown, EdD, RN, FAAN, FNAP, CNAA

 

Editor-in-Chief, Nursing Administration Quarterly, Editor-in-Chief, MODRN Nurse,mailto:naqbb@aol.com

 

Rose Mary Carroll-Johnson, MN, RN

 

Editor, Oncology Nursing Forum, an official journal of the Oncology Nursing Society, Editor, International Journal of Nursing Terminologies and Classifications, the official journal of NANDA International, mailto:rose_mary@earthlink.net

 

Mary W. Chaffee, MS, RN, CNAA, FAAN

 

Guest Editor, Nursing Clinics of North America, Former Managing Editor, Policy, Politics and Nursing Practice,mailto:mwchaffee@aol.com

 

Peggy L. Chinn, PhD, RN, FAAN,

 

Editor, Advances in Nursing Science,mailto:peggychinn@mac.com

 

Phyllis G. Cooper MN, RN

 

Editor, Nursing Forum,mailto:cooperconsulting@socal.rr.com

 

W. Richard Cowling, III, PhD, RN, APRN,BC

 

Editor, Journal of Holistic Nursing,mailto:richardcowling@uncg.edu

 

Patricia D'Antonio, PhD, RN, FAAN

 

Editor, Nursing History Review, the official publication of the American Association for the History of Nursing, mailto:dantonio@nursing.upenn.edu

 

Donna Diers, PhD, RN, FAAN

 

Former Editor, Image-Journal of Nursing Scholarship, Editorial Board Member, AJN,mailto:donna.diers@yale.edu

 

Nancy Donaldson, DNSc, RN, FAAN

 

Founding Co-Editor, Online Journal of Clinical Innovation,mailto:nancy.donaldson@nursing.ucsf.edu

 

Molly Dougherty, PhD, RN, FAAN

 

Editor, Nursing Research,mailto:mdougher@email.unc.edu

 

Marsha Dowell, PhD, RN

 

Senior Editor, Research in Healthcare Financial Management,mailto:mdowell@uscupstate.edu

 

James A. Fain, PhD, RN, BC-ADM, FAAN

 

Editor-in-Chief, The Diabetes Educator, the official journal of the American Association of Diabetes Educators, mailto:jfain@umassd.edu

 

Harriet R. Feldman, PhD, RN, FAAN

 

Editor-in-Chief, Encyclopedia of Nursing Leadership,mailto:hfeldman@pace.edu

 

Joyce Fitzpatrick, PhD, RN, FAAN

 

Editor, Applied Nursing Research, Editor, Archives of Psychiatric Nursing, official journal of SERPN, mailto:jjfitzpatrick@hotmail.com

 

Annette Flanagin, MA, RN, FAAN

 

Managing Deputy Editor, JAMA-Journal of the American Medical Association,mailto:annette.flanagin@jama-archives.org

 

Debbie Fraser Askin, MN, RNC

 

Executive Editor, Neonatal Network,mailto:daskin@neonatalnetwork.com

 

Margaret Comerford Freda, EdD, RN, CHES, FAAN

 

Editor, MCN: The American Journal of Maternal/Child Nursing,mailto:margaretfreda@yahoo.com

 

Nancy Girard, PhD, RN, FAAN

 

Editor-in-Chief, AORN Journa l, mailto:girardn@uthscsa.edu

 

Roslyn M. Gleeson, MSN, RN, APN

 

Pediatric Clinical Nurse Specialist, Pediatric Nurse Practitioner,mailto:rgleeson@nemours.org

 

Laurie N. Gottlieb, PhD, RN

 

Editor-in-Chief, CJNR (Canadian Journal of Nursing Research),mailto:laurie.gottlieb@staff.mcgill.ca

 

Joyce P. Griffin-Sobel, PhD, RN, AOCN, APRN, BC

 

Editor, Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing, an official publication of the Oncology Nursing Society, mailto:cjoneditor@jsobel.com

 

Kathleen A. Gross, MSN, RN, BC, CRN

 

Editor, Journal of Radiology Nursing, the official journal of the American Radiological Nurses Association, mailto:rgross@comcast.net

 

Jane Hokanson Hawks, DNSc, RN, BC

 

Editor, Urologic Nursing, Co-Editor, Medical-Surgical Nursing (68th ed.),mailto:jhawks@radiks.net

 

Sue Thomas Hegyvary, PhD, RN, FAAN

 

Editor, Journal of Nursing Scholarship,mailto:tjns@u.washington.edu

 

Barbara J. Holtzclaw, PhD, RN, FAAN

 

Editor, Southern Online Journal of Nursing Research, the publication of the Southern Nursing Research Society, mailto:Barbara-Holtzclaw@ouhsc.edu

 

Carolyn Humphrey, MS, RN, FAAN

 

Former Editor, Home Healthcare Nurse,mailto:hhnedit@bellsouth.net

 

Anne Katz, PhD, RN

 

Contributing Editor, AJN,mailto:anne.katz@cancercare.mb.ca

 

David M. Keepnews, PhD, JD, RN, FAAN

 

Editor-in-Chief, Policy, Politics and Nursing Practice,mailto:dkeepnews@nyam.org

 

Louanne Lawson, PhD, RN, FAAN

 

Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Forensic Nursing, the official journal of the International Association of Forensic Nurses, mailto:lawsonlouanne@uams.edu

 

Cynthia Lewis, MSN, RN

 

Editor, Journal of Vascular Nursing,mailto:cindy.lewis@aurora.org

 

Judith A. Lewis, PhD, RNC, FAAN

 

Founding Editor, NAP Forum, Former Associate Editor, JOGNN,mailto:jalewis@vcu.edu

 

Nancy K. Lowe, PhD, CNM, FACNM, FAAN

 

Elnora Thomson Distinguished Professor of Nursing, Oregon Health and Science University, mailto:lowen@ohsu.edu

 

Tina Marrelli, MSN, MA, RN

 

Editor, Home Healthcare Nurse: The Journal for the Home Care and Hospice Professional,mailto:news@marrelli.com

 

Maria Helena Palucci Marziale, PhD, RN

 

Editor, Latin American Journal of Nursing, Brazil, mailto:marziale@eerp.usp.br

 

Sandra Nettina, MSN, APRN,BC, ANP

 

Editor, Medscape Nursing's Topics in Advanced Practice ejournal,mailto:nettinas@comcast.net

 

Leslie H. Nicoll, PhD, MBA, RN, BC

 

Editor-in-Chief, CIN: Computers, Informatics, Nursing Editor-in-Chief, JHPN: The Journal of Hospice and Palliative Nursing, the official journal of the Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association, mailto:leslie@medesk.com

 

Marilyn Oermann, PhD, RN, FAAN

 

Editor, J ournal of Nursing Care Quality,mailto:moermann@comcast.net

 

Ellen Olshansky, DNSc, RNC, FAAN

 

Editor, Journal of Professional Nursing, the official journal of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing, mailto:olshane@pitt.edu

 

Carol A. ("Pat") Patsdaughter, PhD, RN, ACRN

 

Co-Editor, Journal of Cultural Diversity Associate Editor, Journal of Multicultural Nursing and Health,mailto:patsdaug@fiu.edu

 

Deanna Persaud, MSN, RN

 

Editor, SCI Nursing, the official journal of the American Association of Spinal Cord Injury Nurses, mailto:dpersaudrn@aol.com

 

Belinda E. Puetz, PhD, RN

 

Editor-in-Chief, Journal for Nurses in Staff Development, the official publication of the National Nursing Staff Development Organization, mailto:bepuetz@puetzamc.com

 

Mary F. Rodts, MS, MSA, CNP, ONC, FAAN

 

Editor, Orthopaedic Nursing,mailto:onjeditor@aol.com

 

Suzanne P. Smith, EdD, RN, FAAN

 

Editor-in-Chief, The Journal of Nursing Administration, Editor-in-Chief, Nurse Educator,mailto:drsuzsmith@aol.com

 

Shirley A. Smoyak, PhD, RN, FAAN

 

Editor, Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health Services,mailto:smoyak@rci.rutgers.edu

 

Chris Stewart-Amidei, MSN, RN, CNRN, CCRN

 

Editor, Journal of Neuroscience Nursing,mailto:camidei@surgery.bsd.uchicago.edu

 

Christine A. Tanner, RN, PhD, FAAN

 

Editor, Journal of Nursing Education,mailto:tannerc@ohsu.edu

 

Linda Q. Thede, PhD, RN, BC

 

Editor, CIN Plus,mailto:lqthede@alltel.net

 

Sue Turale, DEd, RN, RPN, FRCNA, FANZCMHN

 

Editor-in-Chief, Nursing and Health Sciences,mailto:sturale@yamaguchi-U.ac.jp

 

M. Terese Verklan, PhD, CCNS, RNC

 

Associate Editor, Nursing and Health Sciences,mailto:m.t.verklan@uth.tmc.edu

 

Christine Vourakis, DNSc, RN

 

Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Addictions Nursing, the official journal of the International Nurses Society on Addictions, mailto:cvourakis@samuelmerritt.edu

 

Connie Henke Yarbro, MS, RN, FAAN

 

Editor, Seminars in Oncology Nursing,mailto:yarbroch@aol.com

 

Susan Yox, MSN, EdD, RN

 

Editorial Director, Medscape Nurses,mailto:syox@medscape.net