Article Content

Patricia Abbott, RN, PhD, FAAN, assistant professor, Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing, Baltimore, Md., was elected to the American College of Medical Informatics.



FIGURE. Abbott... - Click to enlarge in new windowFIGURE.

Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI), the honor society for nursing, granted Diana Lynn Morris, RN, PhD, FAAN, the 2003 Elizabeth Russell Belford Award for Excellence. The organization presented Marie Manthey, MNA, FRCN, FAAN, with the 2003 Mary Tolle Wright Award for Excellence in Leadership. Rozzano Locsin, RN, PhD, and Ruth McCaffrey, APRN, ND, Florida Atlantic University, Boca Raton, Fla., received the Edith Moore Copeland Award for Excellence in Creativity from STTI.


Miyong Kim, RN, PhD, associate professor, Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing, was elected a Fellow of the American Heart Association and the Council on Cardiovascular Nursing.



FIGURE. Kim... - Click to enlarge in new windowFIGURE.

Lois S. Marshall, RN, PhD, CPN, was appointed to the Wallace Gilroy Endowed Chair in Nursing at the University of Miami School of Nursing, Miami, Fla.



FIGURE. Marshall... - Click to enlarge in new windowFIGURE.

Elaine M. Scherer, RN, MA, BSN, the American Nurses Credentialing Center's assistant director of the certification program and a retired Navy nurse, emerged as the successful candidate to become director of the Magnet program.



FIGURE. Scherer... - Click to enlarge in new windowFIGURE.

The University of Iowa Center for Nursing Classification and Clinical Effectiveness garnered the Clinical Scholarship Award from Sigma Theta Tau International.


JoAnne Youngblut, RN, PhD, FAAN, was appointed to the National Institute of General Medical Sciences' Minority Biomedical Research Support Subcommittee of the National Institutes of Health.


If you or someone you know earns professional recognition, send your submission to [email protected].