Article Content

Devin S. Carr, RN, RRT, CCRN, CS, MSN, Vanderbilt Medical Center, Nashville, Tenn., is the first recipient of the Patient Safety Leadership Fellowship Program, a year-long fellowship with an intensive learning experience, which aims to develop leadership competencies and advance patient safety science.


At the National Disaster Medical System's Annual Conference, Connie Day, RN, BS, director, emergency services division at Saint Vincent Health Center, Erie, Pa., received the 2004 National Disaster Medical System Response Team Distinguished Member of the Year award.

FIGURE. Carr... - Click to enlarge in new windowFIGURE.

Georgetown University Hospital, Washington, D.C., Methodist Hospital, Memphis, Tenn., Baystate Medical Center, Springfield, Mass., and University of California-Davis Medical Center, Sacramento, Calif., won the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses' Beacon Award for Critical Care Excellence.

FIGURE. Day... - Click to enlarge in new windowFIGURE.

Patricia Finch-Guthrie, APRN,BC, PhD, director of clinical practice, North Memorial Medical Center, Minneapolis, Minn., accepted the 2004 Award for Excellence in Geriatric Nursing from the University of Minnesota School of Nursing and John A. Hartford Foundation.


Sarasota Memorial Hospital, Sarasota, Fla., recognized its nurse leaders with its 2004 Nurses of Excellence awards. The following nurses received awards:Michael Blanchette, ARNP, Heart Failure Treatment Center; Jamille Byrd, RN II, orthopedics; Sue Deboth, RN II, oncology; Heather Dukas, RN, medical/wound care; Laura Jutras, RN II, surgery/satellite; Renee Kinney, RN II, medical/respiratory; Mary Lanier, RN, MSN, manager, community health education; Sandra Walenzik, RN, case manager, home care; and Michael Walker, RN, invasive cardiology.

FIGURE. Finch-Guthri... - Click to enlarge in new windowFIGURE.

If you or someone you know earns professional recognition, send your submission to