Article Content

NPUAP Announces Award Winners. Two accomplished wound care professionals were recipients of prestigious awards from the National Pressure Ulcer Advisory Panel (NPUAP) at the organization's biennial meeting in San Antonio, TX.


Elizabeth A. Ayello, PhD, RN, APRN, BC, CWOCN, FAPWCA, FAAN, received the 2007 Kosiak Award, which is the NPUAP's oldest award. Named in honor of Dr Michael Kosiak, the award is designed to recognize individuals who have made significant contribution to the prevention and/or management of pressure ulcers through their leadership in research, education, and/or patient care. Dr Ayello is a faculty member at Excelsior College of Nursing, Albany, NY; Senior Advisor at The John A. Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing, New York, NY, and President of Ayello, Harris & Associates, New York, NY. She is also a Clinical Associate Editor of Advances in Skin & Wound Care, Ambler, PA.

Figure. No caption a... - Click to enlarge in new windowFigure. No caption available.

Courtney H. Lyder, ND, received the Thomas Stewart Founder's Award, named in honor of Thomas Stewart, PhD, who played a key role in the development of the NPUAP. This award honors health care professionals who have made a significant impact on pressure ulcer prevention and treatment, specifically in the area of public policy. Dr Lyder is Professor of Nursing and Director of Diversity Initiatives at the University of Virginia Medical Center, Charlottesville, VA. He is Professor of Internal Medicine and Geriatrics at the University of Virginia. He is also a member of the Editorial Advisory Board for Advances in Skin & Wound Care, Ambler, PA.