Article Content

The Foundation of the National Student Nurses' Association recognized Marilyn Bagwell, RN, PhD, professor emeritus, Arizona State University, Tempe, Ariz., for supporting leadership development by establishing the Marilyn Bagwell Leadership Development Fund. Also honored at the awards ceremony was Linda S. Thompson, RN, PhD, FAAN, professor and dean, Oakland University School of Nursing, Rochester, Mich.


Tenet Healthcare Corporation inducted Jackie Dillard, director of the emergency department, into the Care-giver Hall of Fame.


The AONE Institute for Patient Care Research and Education announced its 2005 award recipients. Jennifer Kirby, RN, MSN, vice president of patient care services and chief nurse officer, Good Samaritan Hospital, Baltimore, Md., received the Organizational Innovation Nurse Executive Award. Nancy Rollins Gantz, RN, CNA, PhD, consultant, Joint Commission Resources, and president, CAPPS International, Mesa, Ariz., received the Prism Award. Linda Scholfield, RN, MBA, vice president of patient services, Abington Memorial Hospital, Abington, Pa., received the Mentor in Action Award. Maureen Swick, RN, CNAA, PhD, vice president of patient care services, Monmouth Medical Center, Long Branch, N.J., received the Eclipsys Leadership in Nursing Informatics Award. Patricia Reid Ponte, RN, DNSc, FAAN, senior vice president and chief of nursing, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, Mass., received McKesson's Keeping Patients Safe Award. V. Lynn Waters, RN,C, CNAA,BC, MSN, MBA, director of women's and newborn services, OU Medical Center, Oklahoma City, Okla., received the Organizational Innovation Nurse Director Award.

FIGURE. Dillard... - Click to enlarge in new windowFIGURE.

Pat Thornton, RN, presented the Association of periOperative Registered Nurses' first ever peri-operative student nurse scholarship to Anna Riley, operating room assistant at Children's Healthcare of Atlanta.

FIGURE. Riley (left)... - Click to enlarge in new windowFIGURE.