Article Content

Annie Botha, RN, and Elmare Eloff, RN, received the Nurse Hero Award, presented in March by their employer, O'Grady Peyton International, Inc., for their tsumani-relief efforts.


Sara Conaway received the 2005 Army Nurse Corps Spirit of Nursing Award.


Lynda J. Davidson, RN, received the Distinguished Nurse of the Year Award from the Pennsylvania State Nurses Association. She's the founding dean of Robert Morris University School of Nursing and Allied Health, established in 2003.


Doris Gibbs, director of nursing at Cheyenne Manor in Cheyenne Wells, received the Colorado Rural Health Award.


Christina Haggerty, LPN, received Greenview Regional Hospital's 2005 Excellence in Nursing Award, which is selected by physicians and staff based on staff nominations.


Catherine Odom, a clinical cardiac exercise specialist at Lehigh Valley Hospital-Muhlenberg, received the hospital's 2005 Friends of Nursing Award.


Shari Mirzaei is the 2005 recipient of Medical City Hospital's most prestigious nursing honor, the Lois Robillard Excellence in Nursing Award. Mirzaei, manager of the Endoscopy Lab, has been at Medical City since 1993.


Kathy Marie Spoor, director of the Pacific County Public Health and Human Services Department, Washington, is one of 10 outstanding individuals from across the country chosen to receive this year's Robert Wood Johnson Community Health Leadership Program Award.

FIGURE. Mirzaei... - Click to enlarge in new windowFIGURE.

Neva Summerfield, director of nursing at Dunlap Nursing and Rehab Center, was chosen as one of the 100 Great Iowa Nurses for 2005.