Article Content

2023 JGPT Best Article Award: The Editors and Editorial Board of the Journal of Geriatric Physical Therapy (JGPT) are pleased to announce the winner of the 2023 JGPT Best Article Award: Congratulations to the authors, Gregory W. Hartley, PT, DPT, FAPTA; Kathryn E. Roach, PT, PhD; Robert W. Nithman, PT, DPT, PhD; Sherri R. Betz, PT, DPT; Carleen Lindsay, PT, MScAH; Robyn K. Fuchs, PhD, FACSM; Keith G. Avin, PT, DPT, PhD! Their study, "Physical Therapist Management of Patients With Suspected or Confirmed Osteoporosis: A Clinical Practice Guideline From the Academy of Geriatric Physical Therapy," was published in the April-June issue last year. (Jour Geriatr Phys Ther, 2022, 45(2):p E106-E119.)


Journal Status

The JGPT received 216 submissions in 2022. This somewhat reduced submission rate is accompanied by an increased proportion of more relevant submissions following an update of the Instructions to Authors that emphasizes prior registration of reviews and clinical trials, the need for adequate sample sizes and multivariate analyses where appropriate, and reporting of clinical significance (in addition to statistical significance). Manuscripts originated from the United States and 26 other countries. Of these 216 submissions, 124 (57%) were assigned to an editor for a second review. Of these, 54 (44%) entered the peer-review system. Of the 199 papers for which final disposition was determined in 2022, 12, or 6%, were accepted and 16 (8%) have decisions remaining outstanding at the time of this writing. We are pleased to report that Journal Citation Reports indicate a 2022 impact factor of 3.252 for the Journal of Geriatric Physical Therapy; this score is a bit lower than the prior year. SCImago ranks the journal in the top 10% of Rehabilitation journals (11/139) and the top 30% of Geriatrics and Gerontology journals (33/110).


Reviewer Appreciation

While authors are solely responsible for the quality of manuscripts submitted to the JGPT, the quality of the manuscripts published in JGPT is enhanced by the feedback that authors receive from teams of editors and peer-reviewers. Constructive comments from associate editors (Bill Andrews, Min-Hui Huang, Kerstin Palombaro, Mindy Renfro and Harshvardhan Singh) and reviewers is used to revise and improve manuscripts, so that readers can clearly understand what was done (and why), what the study findings mean, and how they apply to clinical practice. This journal would not be the valued resource it is without these discerning associate editors and peer-reviewers, and I'm genuinely grateful for their time and efforts on behalf of the JGPT. Former Associate Editor Bob Wellmon, who remains our social and digital media coordinator, has been very successful in his efforts to engage authors and readers via Facebook, Twitter, etc., and I thank him for these outreach efforts.


The 69 editorial board members and reviewers listed below each reviewed 1 or more manuscripts for the Journal in 2022. Their professional dedication to ensuring knowledge translation to the field improves the quality of JGPT publications, and we truly appreciate their commitment to ensure that accepted papers meet high standards for scientific rigor and clinical relevance.


-Leslie K. Allison, PT, PhD, Editor-in-Chief




Special Recognition


This individual reviewed 5 or more manuscripts last year.


Stephen Carp


With Sincere Appreciation


These 68 individuals each reviewed 1 - 4 manuscripts last year.


Alia Alghwiri


Rania Almajid


Sugalya Amatachaya


Mateus Antunes


Garrett Ash


Dale Avers


Michael Bartholomew


Katharine Beissner


George Beneck


Heather Braden


Kathryn Brown


Cathy Ciolek


Tracey Collins


Sean Collins


Marie Corkery


Nicole Dawson


Laurie Devaney


Zeevi Dvir


Jason Falvey


Richard Fortinsky


Stacy Fritz


LaVerene Garner


Patricia Gillette


Susan Glenney


Paras Goel


Laura Gras


Tamara Gravano


Michelle Green


Timothy Hanke


Rashelle Hoffman


Ethan Hood


Min-Hui Huang


Elena Iconaru


Kent Irwin


Eric Johnson


Max Jordan


Tamra Keeney


Dennis Klima


Neeraj Kumar


Dalerie Lieberz


Derek Liuzzo


Corrie Mancinelli


Francisco Martinez-Olmos


Caryn McAllister


Karen McCulloch


Carol McFarland


Sara Migliarese


Marilyn Moffett


Arco Paul


Enrique Pineda


Alyssa Portelli


V. Prakash


Doha Rasheedy


William Reed


Thomas Rulleau


Scot Sawyer


Katharine Scrivener


Staci Shearin


Harshvardhan Singh


Jaclyn Sions


Mary Thompson


Elaine Trudelle-Jackson


Frank Tudini


Bayram Unver


Dawn Venema


Mark Weber


Fran Wedge


Laura White